Photography: Claire de Virieu

Ecological notes

 

 

The Oasis

The oasis evokes a refuge, paradise. It offers water, refreshing and abundant. It is a multi-level ecosystem: the upper stratum (palm trees) creates a microclimate (partial shade and relative humidity) favourable to the growth of the lower strata: shrubs and bushes, then small plants.

 

 

The agricultural oasis, as found in North Africa and the Middle East, consists of date palms, then fruit trees (orange, guava) and also cereals (occasionally vegetables). Here, the date palms are replaced by Madagascar palms, the fruits trees by flowering bushes (Caesalpinia pulcherrima, Bauhinia sp, etc.), and the cereals by lawn grass.

 

01-notes-eco-oasis




Backstage in the Madagascar Oasis

 

 

Born of an environmental challenge, this garden has become in a few years a veritable ecosystem. With its microclimate, its flora and fauna, life emerges in the middle of the sands.

Area: 0.5 hectares
Location: Majunga, Madagascar
Biotope: Tropical dry
Eco-garden: 3/5

 

 

Project stages

01-coulisse-oasis

1998: location photos, the oasis is laid out in a natural hollow, behind the beach. Three filters to protect the plants from the ocean spray: panels of woven palm fronds, curtains of sugar cane and thickets of bougainvillea.

 

02-coulisse-oasis

03-coulisse-oasis

Work-site: the pirogues return with young coconut palms harvested in the neighbouring village’s vegetable gardens.

04-coulisse-oasis

Work-site: thanks to the wind-breakers and the water, the vegetation takes root.

 

05-coulisse-oasis

The oasis spreads luxuriantly around the pond.

Photographies : Claire de Virieu

Notes écologiques

 

 

L’Oasis

L’oasis évoque le refuge, le paradis. Elle offre l’eau, apaisante et généreuse. C’est un écosystème multi-étagé : la strate haute (palmiers) permet de créer un microclimat (demi ombre et humidité relative) favorable à la croissance des strates inférieures : arbustes et buissons, puis plantes basses. L’oasis de production, telle qu’on la trouve au Maghreb et au

 

Moyen orient, est constituée de palmiers dattiers, puis d’arbres fruitiers (orangers, goyaviers), et enfin de céréales (et parfois de légumes). Ici, les dattiers sont remplacés par des palmiers malgaches, les fruitiers par des arbustes à fleurs (Caesalpinia pulcherrima, Bauhinia sp., etc.), et les céréales par le gazon.

 

01-notes-eco-oasis




Les coulisses de l’oasis à madagascar

 

 

Né d’un défi environnemental, ce jardin est devenu en quelques
années un véritable écosystème, avec son microclimat, sa flore
et sa faune. La vie apparaît au milieu du sable.

Superficie : 0,5 ha
Localisation : Madagascar, Majunga
Biotope : Tropical sec
éco-jardin : 3/5

 

 

Les étapes de la réalisation

01-coulisse-oasis

1998 : photos de repérage, l’oasis est placée dans un creux naturel, en arrière de la plage. Pour protéger les plantes des embruns, trois filtres : panneaux de palmes tressées, rideaux de cannes à sucre, bosquets de bougainvillées.

 

02-coulisse-oasis

03-coulisse-oasis

Chantier : les pirogues reviennent avec de jeunes cocotiers récoltés dans les potagers du village voisin.

04-coulisse-oasis

Chantier : grâce au brise-vent et à l’eau, la végétation s’installe.

 

05-coulisse-oasis

L’oasis s’épanouit avec générosité autour de la mare.