Photography: Claire de Virieu

Ecological notes

 

 

The four elements

Wood

European wood can resist rough weather if it is rot-proof (Douglas fir, chestnut, larch, acacia) or if it is retified, that is to say transformed by pyrolysis. This thermal treatment at moderate temperature (180-250°C) modifies the wood’s lignin molecules. The retification process is a low-energy technique with consumption situated between solid wood and composite wood. The main advantage of retified wood is that of having a very low impact on the environment, out of all proportion to the exotic woods currently used for outdoor construction.

 

ORGANIC PLANTS

The hardest task is finding organically cultivated plants. The Croux nursery has an organic subsidiary which provides us here with shrubs and Scots pines. The Pépinières de la Bambouseraie d’Anduze have created an organic bamboo production line.

 

SOLAR PHOTOVOLTAIC PANELS

Before getting into solar energy, start by foreseeing energy-saving lighting. It is the most sustainable approach. Installing panels does raise several questions. Many years of producing electricity are needed to amortize the energy used in manufacturing and recycling a solar photovoltaic panel. The choice of solar energy in lighting your garden becomes interesting if you link the solar panel to the local network (e.g. EDF) and selling off the surplus.

 

RECYCLING AND SAVING WATER

Saving water is an important challenge and even if solutions exist, putting them into practice inside a building is not so simple.

01-note-eco-terrasse-ecologique

It involves recycling rainwater, finding a place to store it, foreseeing a solution in the case of insufficient rainfall. Recycling is usually done by a diversion from the roof-gutter of your house or from the apartment-building’s rainwater column if you live in town. The water is stored in a reservoir. If it is made-to-measure, it can be concealed in wooden casing that can be used as a bench or in the space beneath the flooring of a terrace. If the reservoir is not placed high enough (lacking pressure by gravity), you have to install a pump that will operate when needed: manual sprinkling or electromechanical solenoid valves for automatic sprinkling. In this latter case, provide for a bascule-convertor to the public water supply during a rainfall-shortage.

 

 

 




Backstage at the ecological terrace

 

 

Perched at the heart of the city, this terrace is a model of eco-garden autonomy, producing energy, organic fruit and vegetables, storing rainwater, compost…

Area: 62 sq m
Location: Paris 8th Arrondissement
Biotope: Continental
Eco-garden: 5/5

 

 

Project stages

01-coulisse-terrasse-ecologique

2009: location photo, the terrace at the heart of the city.

 

02-coulisse-terrasse-ecologique

Photographies : Claire de Virieu

Notes écologiques

 

 

Les quatre éléments

Bois

Le bois européen peut supporter les intempéries s’il est imputrescible (douglas, châtaigner, mélèze, acacia) ou s’il est rétifié, c’est-à-dire transformé par pyrolyse. Ce traitement thermique à température modérée (180 à 250°) modifie les molécules de lignine du bois. Le procédé de rétification est une technique peu énergivore. Son bilan énergétique se situe entre le bois massif et les bois reconstitué. Le principal avantage du bois rétifié est d’avoir un impact environnemental très faible, sans commune mesure par rapport aux bois exotiques couramment utilisés dans les aménagements extérieurs.

 

Plantes bio

Le plus difficile est de trouver des plantes cultivées biologiquement. La pépinière Croux dispose d’une filière bio, qui nous fournit ici des arbrisseaux et pins sylvestres. Les Pépinières de la Bambouseraie d’Anduze ont créé une filière de production biologique.

 

Capteurs solaires photovoltaïques

Avant de vous lancer dans le solaire, commencez par prévoir un éclairage économe en énergie. C’est l’approche la plus durable. L’installation de capteurs soulève en effet plusieurs questions. Il faut de nombreuses années de production électrique pour amortir l’énergie dépensée lors de la fabrication et du recyclage d’un capteur solaire photovoltaïque. Le choix de l’énergie solaire en éclairage de jardin devient intéressant à condition de relier le capteur au réseau EDF et de revendre les excédents.

01-note-eco-terrasse-ecologique

Récupération et économie d’eau

Économiser l’eau est un défi important, et même si les solutions existent, les mettre en œuvre au sein d’un immeuble n’est pas si simple. Récupérer l’eau de pluie, trouver un lieu pour la stocker, prévoir une solution en cas de pluviométrie insuffisante… La récupération se fait en général par une dérivation sur la gouttière de votre maison ou sur la colonne d’eau pluviale de l’immeuble si vous habitez en ville. L’eau est stockée dans un réservoir. S’il est fait sur mesure, il peut être caché dans un caisson de bois servant de banc ou sous l’épaisseur du plancher d’une terrasse. Si le réservoir n’est pas placé suffisamment haut (manque de pression par gravité), il est nécessaire d’installer une pompe qui se déclenchera en fonction des besoins : arrosage manuel ou électrovannes de l’arrosage automatique. Dans ce dernier cas, prévoir une bascule sur l’eau de ville en cas de déficit pluvial.

 

 

 




Les coulisses de la terrasse écologique

 

 

Suspendue au cœur de la ville, cette terrasse est un modèle d’éco-jardin autonome : Production d’énergie, de fruits et de légumes bio, récupération d’eau de pluie, compost…

Superficie : 62 m2
Localisation : Paris 8e
Biotope : continental
éco-jardin : 5/5

 

 

Les étapes de la réalisation

01-coulisse-terrasse-ecologique

2009 : photo de repérage, la terrasse au cœur de la ville.

 

02-coulisse-terrasse-ecologique