Photography: Claire de Virieu

ECOLOGICAL NOTES

 

 

ECOLOGICAL FLOWER-MEADOWS

 

PREPARATION

Flower-meadows are sown on prepared earth. For this, a regrettable but current procedure involves applying a weed-killer to pre-existing meadows or lawns. I had to fight against the accepted ideas promoted by the lobbies for pesticide products to prove it was possible to create a flower-meadow in soil merely prepared with a rotovator. Even better, if the surface is not too great, you can spread a black tarpaulin or old blankets on the pre-existing grass for six months, to cleanse the soil before working the earth.

 

SOWING

The sowing is performed preferably in spring in soil that has warmed up (April-May according to the climate). Then the flower-meadows composed of annuals (poppy, cornflower, ammi (bishop’s flower), corncockle) bloom in the summer. Note that they will not bloom again the following year unless they can be liberally re-sown in earth that has been worked again, as was once the custom with fields of cereals.

 

note-eco

DURABILITY

You can work the earth every spring with the rotovator to incorporate the seeds of the annuals. Many lovers of flower-meadows are put off by this maintenance work. Therefore, I often advise people to let an existing lawn grow and transform into a magnificent grass meadow, without colourful flowers, but only requiring a mowing at the end of the summer. Moreover, this solution has less of an impact on the ecology.

 

 




BACKSTAGE AT THE “JARDIN D’O”

 

 

REVEALING THE SPIRIT OF THE PLACE…
A WATERLOGGED MEADOW BECOMES A LAKE-DWELLER’S ECOSYSTEM, A PLACE TO WALK AND TO DREAM AMONG PONDS, STREAMS AND SPRINGS.

Area: 2 hectares
Location: Western France
Biotope: Wet meadowland
Eco-garden: 4/5

 

 

PROJECT STAGES

2005: location photos, the ditches (tall grass on the left) will be transformed into a stream flowing into the projected main pond and simulated here by the work-site’s red ribbon.

02-coulisses

 

Work-site: large-scale earth-works.

Work-site: digging of the main pond.

 

2007: the main pond located in the terrain’s hollow receives its landing-stage, its open cabin and water-plants.

Photographies : Claire de Virieu

Notes écologiques

 

 

Prairies fleuries écologiques

 

Préparation

Les prairies fleuries se sèment sur une terre travaillée. Pour cela, un procédé regrettable mais courant consiste à appliquer un désherbant dans les prairies ou pelouses existantes. Il m’a fallu lutter contre les idées reçues véhiculées par les lobbies des produits phytosanitaires pour prouver qu’une prairie pouvait s’installer dans un sol simplement passé au rotovator. Mieux encore, si la surface n’est pas trop grande, vous pouvez poser une bâche noire ou une  vieille couverture pendant six mois sur l’herbe existante, pour nettoyer le sol avant de travailler la terre.

 

Semis

Le semis se fait de préférence au printemps en sol réchauffé (avril-mai selon le climat). Les prairies fleuries composées d’annuelles (coquelicot, bleuet des champs, ammi, nielle des blés…) fleurissent alors en été. Sachez qu’elles ne refleuriront l’année suivante qu’à condition qu’elles puissent se ressemer librement dans une terre à nouveau travaillée, comme cela se passait dans les champs de céréales autrefois.

note-eco

Durabilité

Vous pouvez travailler la terre chaque printemps au rotovator pour incorporer les graines d’annuelles. Beaucoup d’amateurs de prairies fleuries se découragent devant cette maintenance. Aussi, je conseille souvent de laisser pousser une pelouse existante qui se transforme en prairie de graminées magnifique, sans fleurs colorées, mais dont le seul entretien consiste à faucher en fin d’été. De plus, cette solution est d’un moindre impact écologique.

 

 




Les coulisses du jardin d’O

 

 

Révéler l’esprit du lieu… Une prairie gorgée d’eau devient un écosystème lacustre, lieu de promenade et de rêverie parmi étangs, ruisseaux et sources.

Superficie : 3 ha
Localisation : Ouest de la France
Biotype : Prairie humide
Éco-jardin : 4/5 

 

 

 

les étapes de la réalisation

2005 : photos de repérage, les fossés (herbes hautes à gauche) vont se transformer en ruisseau se déversant dans le futur étang principal, simulé par le ruban de chantier.

02-coulisses

Chantier : travaux de terrassement à grande échelle.

Chantier : creusement de l’étang principal.

 

2007 : L’étang principal placé en creux de terrain accueille le ponton, sa cabane ouverte et ses plantes aquatiques.